Posted in Poetry, Prompts

Nightmare

Drenched in sweat, heart beating rapidly,

I need some sense of calm, someone to nudge me back to reality,

He was coming for me, he said it the last time,

Your momma can’t save you now“,

“I’m real, realer than your own skin”.


A shiver went down my spine as I watched him,

Dragging his metallic feet and large frame towards me,

My voice failed me, as I couldn’t even hear myself scream in spite of my mouth being open,

Why do I keep seeing him?

Its not my fault he fell down that abyss, I didn’t kill him,

It was just a terrible mistake of fate.


Wake up, wake up, you’re having a nightmare again
, my mom’s voice came through,

Finally I could breath again, still drenched in sweat,

But much grateful that I was still alive,

I felt a sharp pain in my arm, I twisted it to see a scar,

Of finger nails that had sunk deep into my flesh,

The man was real!!!!!!

Should I just come clean with mom and tell her what really happened?

Or just keep enduring these frightful nightmares?

No way I’m gonna tell mom,

After all twas just another nightmare

#DailyPost

Mimispassion © 2016

Author:

In simplicity is sophistication. Writing is liberating and having you read is exhilarating....

4 thoughts on “Nightmare

Leave a Reply

