Posted in Poetry, Write Ups

I have a dream

quote-when-God-gives-you-a-dream-trust-him-to-lead-you-to-its-fulfilment-dreams-purpose-vision-wilhemina-enam-agbozo-mimspassion-quotes-changing-lives-transforming-destinies

I wasn’t always this way;
I was a child shut in by tradition, afraid to speak of my dreams;
Lest I be thrown into a well and shipped off to Egypt;
So I learned to dream under wraps:
Hidden by thick blankets of self-doubt and people pleasing,
A prisoner of despair: my little heart-broken beyond repair;
Broken into pieces by the hammer of discouragement,
The hammer who spoke a language only I could understand:
A language whose chief alphabets spell “YOU CAN’T DO THIS” –
“THIS ISN’T WHAT YOU WERE CALLED TO DO“.

For so long, I stayed imprisoned by the shackles of depression and repression;
Pushing the gifts deeper down, denying their existence for fear of being unique,
I feared being special:
being Saved, Prepared, Equipped, Constructed Intrinsically Agile for Life;
I couldn’t fathom that I had to be different; it didn’t make any sense to be;
Because being different meant being bullied;
Different meant being too proud;
Different meant being too scared of being wrong;
Different meant accepting me for all I was;
Different meant accepting the responsibility that I was carved & created for a time like this;
That my frame was tall and weight light so I could fly;
That my mind worked non-stop so I could provide solutions;
That my heart beat with passion for a reason;

I wasn’t always like this,
I failed to see that being mediocre was what was killing me;
Failed to identify that voice of fear and replace it with faith;
Fear that made me stoop and squat when I was made to stand;
Fear that crippled me and kept me from running when I was designed to fly;
I never used to be this way;
Never used to be confident in who God made me to be;
Didn’t imagine I could be an influence, much more a positive one;
Never dreamt of being a voice to my generation;

I thank God for the revelation;
That I was made for such a dispensation;
That provision had been made for the great vision;
That I had nothing to do with discouragement;
Because my influence and fulfilment of purpose and vision is by divine arrangement;
I thank God for the liberation;
That has caused my life to be a constant purpose celebration.

Whoever you are and whatever you are going through whilst trying to follow God’s will for your life, be encouraged that the vision is for an appointed time and that though it tarried, it will surely come to pass. God doesn’t start anything He wouldn’t or can’t finish. Keep trusting.

hab-2-3-mimispassion-vision-changed-purpose-driven-life-God-makes-a-difference

 

All Rights Reserved. Mimispassion © 2017

Author:

In simplicity is sophistication. Writing is liberating and having you read is exhilarating....

4 thoughts on “I have a dream

  1. Sometimes we stoop low because we are afraid of standing out. We fear what people might think us more than who God has called us to be. I like your resolution. Great post, God bless 🌼🏵❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

